Don’t Let THIS Be The Downfall Of Your Fitness Journey

Gabe Johansson
3 min readApr 2, 2024

Getting in shape is tough as it is, but there’s one thing so many people deal with making it even harder…

And my recent semi-viral Instagram reel explains this exact situation perfectly.

Here goes:

Over the last few days, one of my videos went from about 2,000 views to now 134,189 as of writing this.

Inside the video I was doing dumbbell facepulls looped to the song “Life Is A Highway” and the headline read:

“Most people should exercise daily but only lift weights 3 days per week. Sounds weird, but it’s true.”

And in the caption, I went on to talk about building fitness habits by making exercise part of your daily routine, either lifting or cardio.

Seems harmless, right?

Maybe even inspirational?

Well, according to the angry mob online, I might as well have been kicking puppies in the video and telling people their breath stinks and they’re poor in the caption.

People were ripping on me for my form (not even knowing the exercise I was doing), saying I shouldn’t tell people how to build…

--

--

Gabe Johansson

Man. Husband. Father. Black coffee enjoyer. On a mission to help 1000s get in shape. Get free newsletter + fat loss guide + community: https://GainsWithGabe.com