How I Joined The 5am Club (And Never Looked Back)

Gabe Johansson
2 min readDec 4, 2023

For over 2 years now, I’ve woken up at 5am or earlier 99% of the time.

If you asked me to do this in 2018, I’d laugh because there were plenty of days I’d still be up at 5am and sleep until noon.

And from 2019 to the end of 2021, I built a much more consistent sleep schedule, but I had no need to wake up all that early.

It wasn’t until November 2021 when I got myself a job where I had to clock in before 8am so waking up any bit later than 5am would have me rushing to get everything done before I left, especially since Martha and I just had our first daughter then.

And now with 2 daughters and an even earlier work schedule with a (sometimes much) longer commute…

Waking up at 5am feels like I slept in.

Take today for example:

I woke up at 5, poured a cup of scalding hot black coffee, talked with my wife for a bit, and got to writing.

Somehow it’s already 6am and I need to take my pup out and start getting ready for work soon.

That said…

How do I now wake up at 5am so easily?

2 reasons:

--

--

Gabe Johansson

Man. Husband. Father. Black coffee enjoyer. On a mission to help 1000s get in shape. Get free newsletter + fat loss guide + community: https://GainsWithGabe.com