How To Convince Yourself To Go To The Gym When You Don’t Want To

Gabe Johansson
2 min readMar 19, 2023

Based on the content I put out every day, it seems like I’m supposed to be some sort of fitness expert…

But there are plenty of times where I don’t want to hit the gym.

Even when I had my home gym setup where all I had to do was walk down the stairs to the basement, some days I’d just rather do something else.

I could put more time into building my online business.

I could attempt to catch up on sleep since I haven’t slept more than 5–6 hours in who knows how long.

I could spend more time with my wife and daughter.

I could watch another episode of Better Call Saul.

And now that I moved halfway across the country and the closest gym with actual weights is 42 minutes away…

It’s a whole lot harder to convince myself to go to the gym.

And yet…

I’m still able to go despite being incredibly busy these days.

Why on earth would I take nearly 2 and a half hours out of my day to drive to the gym, lift things up and put them down, then drive all the way back?

The answer is simple:

--

--

Gabe Johansson

Man. Husband. Father. Black Coffee Enjoyer. Went from skinny fat to fit. On a mission to help 1000s get in shape: https://gainswithgabe.com