How To Save Yourself Hours While Losing Weight

Gabe Johansson
2 min readNov 28, 2023

Back when I first started my fitness journey I had this wild idea to hop on the elliptical for cardio every single day for 100 days.

I wanted to get in shape, so naturally fixing my diet and getting my body moving was the answer.

Even though it took me 110 days to complete my challenge, the Gabe that came out the other side was a different, much lighter individual.

But thinking back…

I could have saved myself hours of my life travelling back and forth to the gym and using that machine I haven’t used in half a decade while still getting in shape just as effectively.

Here’s what I mean by this:

Let’s say you did the same kind of challenge and spent just 20 minutes per day on the treadmill.

Over 100 days, that’s 33 hours spent walking…

All for an average of about 80 calories burned per session.

You know what else is about 80 calories?

1/3 of a 20oz bottle of Sprite, a serving of barbecue sauce, and less than half a serving of peanut butter.

You can save yourself hours by simply factoring in and tracking every single thing you consume, vegetables, condiments, drinks, and all.

--

--

Gabe Johansson

Man. Husband. Father. Black coffee enjoyer. On a mission to help 1000s get in shape. Get free newsletter + fat loss guide + community: https://GainsWithGabe.com