I Don’t Like This Leg Exercise, But It Works Like Crazy

Gabe Johansson
2 min readNov 4, 2023

For years, the only 2 exercises I would do to grow my legs were squats and deadlifts.

They’re so versatile and efficient I never really felt like I needed anything else.

And any time I would add things in like leg extensions, leg curls, or single leg exercises…

They felt like mostly a waste of time and just made me sore and tired without much extra benefit.

Especially Bulgarian split squats.

Those were just pure torture.

But ever since I started working out at home over 4 months ago…

Goblet squats and dumbbell RDLs weren’t quite cutting it, especially compared to my considerably heavier barbell squats and deadlifts of the past.

So I had to do something.

And the exercise I chose?

Regular split squats.

I never really gave these an honest shot until fairly recently, but I’m glad I did.

I don’t like them at all, but they are actually bringing a bit of challenge to my leg days again.

Considering I’m holding 2 dumbbells and one leg is doing the majority of the work at a time, it’s a whole lot harder.

--

--

Gabe Johansson

Man. Husband. Father. Black coffee enjoyer. On a mission to help 1000s get in shape. Get free newsletter + fat loss guide + community: https://GainsWithGabe.com