What I Would Do If I Had To Lose 20Lbs By Summer

Gabe Johansson
3 min readApr 9, 2024

Even though I’d much rather take the steady, sustainable approach of losing 0.5 to 1lbs per week…

There are a few very specific things I would do if I had to lose 10 pounds by summer.

As of right now, there are 10 weeks and 2 days between today and the first day of summer on June 20th.

That means I’d have to lose 2 pounds per week every week on average for this to work.

Will it be easy? No.

Do I recommend this? No.

But is it possible? Yes.

That said, let’s get into how this works because I’ve done this strategy before in 2014:

1. Get in a fairly aggressive calorie deficit

My normal recommendation is to find your daily maintenance calories and drop that by 300–500 to get the weight loss process started.

But in this case, we’re dropping them by 700.

So for the sake of this example, let’s say I was 195lbs, at the same 5'11" and 35 years old, had my same desk job, and hit the weights 3 days per week.

My normal maintenance calories would be about 2,700, which means I’d drop them down to 2,000 and aim for at least 140g protein per day.

--

--

Gabe Johansson

Man. Husband. Father. Black coffee enjoyer. On a mission to help 1000s get in shape. Get free newsletter + fat loss guide + community: https://GainsWithGabe.com